5th Online Lightning Talk Mini-workshop

Owing to the ongoing pandemic situation, let’s meet in another openmod online workshop.

The format will be similar to the previous four online workshops: first, second, third, fourth.

Theme

The theme is open, but contributions sharing new datasets or tools (or outlining the need for them) and pitching research ideas with the intent of finding collaboration partners (expertise you want to bring into the team) are particularly welcomed.

Logistics

When: Wednesday 16 February 2022 14:00 +0000 (UTC) for 2 hours plus 30 minutes informal time.

What: 10 slots for 6 minute talks + 4 minutes questions/comments.

Who : Anyone can join to listen (up to 300 participants) but registration is required.

How to suggest a talk: Scroll down and add your talk to the list. That post is a so‑called wikipost that can be edited by anyone registered with the forum. If there are more than 10 talk suggestions, a selection will be made by the organisers.

How to connect: Use Zoom - Zoom hosting will be provided by the Department of Digital Transformation in Energy Systems, Technical University Berlin, Germany: https://www.tu.berlin

Talk format: Zoom allows you to share your screen with other participants, so you can share your talk slides. We’d appreciate it if you make your slides available to the organizers beforehand. And preferably with a Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY 4.0) license at your discretion.

Registration

How to register: The following private page contains the URL needed to register with Zoom; although you will need to be registered with this forum in order to access that page:

Schedule

CET timezone used.

Time Role
15:00 Start
15:00 Introductions
15:10 Talks start
16:50 Talks finish
16:50 Feedback/Open forum
17:00 Official finish
17:30 Final finish

List of talks

See wikipost below.

Technical information

Format for each talk

  • The speaker will be moderated into the meeting by the timekeeper
  • Please remember to unmute your microphone and introduce yourself briefly
  • The speaker can share their slides or screen over Zoom
  • They can speak for 6 minutes; all other participants will be muted by the moderators during this time
  • After 5 minutes they will receive a “1 minute warning” on audio from the timekeeper
  • After 6 minutes they will be asked to stop talking by the timekeeper
  • If they are still speaking after 6.5 minutes, the timekeeper will mute them (sorry)
  • To ask questions to the speaker, write your question in the public “Chat”
  • The question moderator will group similar questions and ask the questioner to put their question over audio to the speaker
  • After 9.5 minutes the timekeeper will ask everyone to start wrapping up and prepare for the next speaker
  • If you have further questions for the speaker, please use the open forum at the end of the formal session or contact them privately

Timekeepers/moderators

  • @fabian.neumann will do Zoom hosting duties (managing who’s (un)muted, keeping time etc)
  • @johannes.hampp is the question moderator and will moderate the questions following each talk

Session recording and publication

We will record the entire session. For people who provide their consent, we will make the recordings available after the session under a Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY 4.0) license. We will not publish anything personally identifiable without that consent. You may withdraw your consent after the event is complete but prior to publication We will respect the wishes of anyone who asks to delete the recordings of themselves. We also remind participants that the organizers cannot prevent attendees from recording the meeting privately using screen capture software.

Please contact @robbie.morrison if you have questions about the recording, editing, and publication processes. The openmod YouTube channel URL and other details of that service can be found here:

House rules

Since we may be more than 50 people, we have to enforce some house rules to respect everyone’s time and attention:

  • We will keep military time and discipline
  • Test your Zoom installation before the workshop
  • Please use video if you can
  • Use a stable internet connection
  • Don’t talk unless invited to by one of the moderators
  • Best to use a headset if you’re talking
  • When you’re not talking, mute your microphone
  • If you call with a hurricane in the background, we will mute you
  • Ask questions in the public “Chat”
1 Like

List of talks

This is a wikipost editable by anyone registered with the forum.

Summary

  • TBA

Full submissions

  1. Leonard Göke @leonardgoeke “Benders decomposition with a second-order cone constrained trust-region for large bottom-up planning models” Planning the pathway towards a renewable energy system at a high temporal resolution and accounting for multiple climatic years quickly exceeds the computational capabilities when using off-the-shelf solvers. To efficiently parallelize the solution process of these models, the presentation introduces refinements to the Benders algorithm that enforce trust-regions from heuristic solutions computed with reduced time-series. The corresponding code is available on the dev branch of AnyMOD.jl.

  2. Maximilian Parzen @MaxParzen “The new PyPSA meets Earth initiative is looking for you.” Many people believe that global energy system modelling for investment and dispatch optimization in high spatial resolution is impossible. Indeed there are interesting challenges, however, together we can overcome them. PyPSA meets Earth is an independent research initiative with a growing international community that is focusing on the provision of global open tools and data for the energy transition. While the initiative started in 2021 with an initial focus on Africa, the scope recently broadened to cover the world. The presentation will layout out our vision and existing work on open data, energy system models and solvers. Do you want to get involved?

  3. Malte Schäfer @MalteSchaefer and Robbie Morrison @robbie.morrison “Debrief on the proposed International Energy Agency (IEA) open data policy change”. This particular mini‑workshop will take place two weeks after the IEA Ministerial meeting in Pittsburgh, USA on 2–3 February 2022. And it is likely that that meeting produces significant outcomes — either way — in terms of open data. This short talk will review those outcomes and their implications and also discuss the preceding campaign to attempt to secure open data. For evolving background, please see here.

  4. Chris Gong @chrisgong “Modelling power sector transition by coupling hourly investment and dispatch model with IAM”. Integrated assessment models (IAMs) have been criticized for lacking hourly resolution that explicitly models wind and solar variability. Our preliminary work of model coupling shows it is possible to couple an energy system model (ESM) of hourly resolution with IAM in a way that gives “best of both worlds”: ESM provides peak (hourly) residual demand, endogenous market value and dispatch of various technologies, while IAM carries out long-term macroeconomic decision making, learning, vintage tracking, price-demand elasticity and comprehensive demand-sector coverage. Both models being coupled are partially or fully open-source: REMIND, DIETER.

  5. Ludwig Hülk @ludwig.huelkDevelopent status and planning of the Open Energy Platform: a collaborative database and open framework for energy research data management”. Originated from the openmod, the Open Energy Family and the OEP is a cross-project research project that is continuously being developed by various universities and institutes. We will give an update of the existing modules and planed features that are being developed.

  6. Silvana Ovaitt @shiru “PV ICE Tool: Evaluating Photovoltaics in the Circular Economy”. This open-source tool follows the dynamic Material and flows for each component and material in a PV system, from mining to end of life to evaluate the material and energy impacts of different paths. Following circularity principles, virgin material inputs can be offset by recovered materials to reduce impacts due to mining and extraction. Unlike consumer products, renewable energy technologies generate power over their useful life to quickly offset energy required for manufacturing. The model provides unique baselines of PV evolution, and allows us to evaluate the material and soon energy return on investment of decisions such as field repair, off-site refurbishment, reuse, or recycling. Energy layer and cost, as well as visual dashboard under development.

4 Likes

The start time in other locations:

Day Date Time Offset Timezone
Thursday 17 February 2022 03:00 +1300 NZDT
Thursday 17 February 2022 01:00 +1100 AEDT
Wednesday 16 February 2022 19:30 +0530 IST (India)
Wednesday 16 February 2022 18:00 +0400 +04 (UAE)
Wednesday 16 February 2022 17:00 +0300 MSK
Wednesday 16 February 2022 17:00 +0300 EAT
Wednesday 16 February 2022 16:00 +0200 CAT
Wednesday 16 February 2022 15:00 +0100 WAT
Wednesday 16 February 2022 15:00 +0100 CET
Wednesday 16 February 2022 14:00 +0000 GMT
Wednesday 16 February 2022 14:00 +0000 UTC
Wednesday 16 February 2022 09:00 -0500 EST
Wednesday 16 February 2022 07:00 -0700 MST
Wednesday 16 February 2022 06:00 -0800 PST
Wednesday 16 February 2022 04:00 -1000 HST
Text and images licensed under CC BY 4.0Data licensed under CC0 1.0Code licensed under MITSite terms of serviceOpenmod mailing listOpenmod wiki.