Working out global, annual, figures for carbon intensity of electricity for servers to use for scheduling compute jobs

hi there.

I’m not an energy modeller - I’m a software engineer and I’m trying to build some level of awareness of carbon intensity into tools for managing datacentres and working out where and when to schedule computing loads, and I have a couple of questions for areas outside my domain of expertise. I hope that’s ok.

Background

For those interested - here’s the issue where I’m listing notes to build some of these into a go software library, for consumption inside software for managing datacentre and servers like Kubernertes, Nomad and so on.

for those new to it, Nomad is a fairly well known open source piece of software that powers a significant chunk of the internet. Amongst others, it’s used by Cloudflare for example handle tonnes of traffic, and they detail their use here.

I’ve been chatting to the team there, and there’s now a prototype branch being worked on, that consumes the go library I’ve linked above.

That would mean anything that uses Nomad can also use carbon intensity information, to move computing loads through space with annual data, or assuming there is hourly data, move computing loads to time and space, to where the carbon intensity is lower.

You can see the readme below, which outlines at a high level how it’s planned to work:

For context, datacentres have surprising amount of flexibility for demand.

A typical rack can consume 10-20 kw of power, and well… datacentres can fit lots of racks into rooms, of which less than 20% are typically being used by compute jobs, with a signficiant majority waiting idle.

Sidenote: Tools like Nomad allow this idle capacity to be reduced, by moving reliability to another level - instead of having reliability through redundancy within the datacentre, you achieve redundancy across datacentres, and increasing the ‘density’ of compute on the servers that are running