Using marginal emission factor for demand side energy flexibility

Dear openmod community,

As my first post here, I would like to outline my current research (idea) that is related to energy systems modeling/analysis. After providing a brief outline of what I plan to do, I’d like to invite you to provide me with feedback on whether you think the topic fits the scope of this forum and on the idea in general.

Personal background
I’m a PhD student in mechanical engineering, and I also have a BSc/MSc in MechE. I’ve been working mostly on life cycle assessment in the past three years, being involved various research projects and assisting in teaching. More recently, I joined the project flexess, in which I will be assessing the environmental impact of demand side energy flexibility.

Central idea
I’d like to develop a methodology, which should ultimately result in a computational tool, to assess the environmental impact of demand side energy flexibility. In this context, I define energy flexibility measures as interventions which result in a change of electricity demand from the grid (e.g. load shifting, energy efficiency, installing on-site renewables, installing battery storage etc.). The marginal emission factor, calculated as demonstrated by Hawkes (2010) (paywalled/only upon request, unfortunately), is to be calculated with a high temporal and spatial resolution and multiplied with the consumer’s electrical load profile to result in the overall environmental impact.

Target audience