Seeking Guidance on Modeling EVs in Microgrid

Hello OEMOF community , I am new to energy system modeling and i am working on a hybrid microgrid model using oemof and am looking for the best approach to integrate Electric Vehicles (EVs) as part of the system. I have modeled BEVs using the GenericStorage component to manage charging and discharging functionalities. However, I’m unsure if I should also use Source/Sink components alongside GenericStorage to represent additional functionalities like driving power consumption.

Could anyone share insights or experiences on the best practices for modeling EVs in such scenarios? Should I stick with GenericStorage only, or is there a benefit in also using Source/Sink components?

PS : I have a Binary Data Set (hourly) for my 5 electric vehicles representing the state of each EV
(1 : EV is present in the MG
2 : EV is absent) but i do not know how to use it

here is the snippet code i used for the BEVs :

number_of_evs = 5 
bev_battery_cap = 85  # Kwh

evs_storage = {}

for i in range(number_of_evs):
    ev_label = f'bev_storage_{i+1}'  # here i set a unique label for each EV
    evs_storage[ev_label] = solph.components.GenericStorage(
        label=ev_label,
        inputs={b_electricity: Flow(nominal_value=22)},
        outputs={b_EV: Flow()},
        nominal_storage_capacity=bev_battery_cap,
        loss_rate=0.00001,
        inflow_conversion_factor= 0.90,
        outflow_conversion_factor= 0.80,
        balanced = True,
        #fixed_costs= None, # randomly chosen
        #initial_storage_level = 0 
    )
#adding EVs to the Energysystem
for ev_storage in evs_storage.values():
    Energysystem.add(ev_storage)

Thank you for any advice or guidance!

Hi @Oussama_ZIADI,