Open publishing / SDEWES Conference

Hi everyone,

I’m relatively new to the openmod community, but some of you may know me from the last workshop held in München. So the get started, I’m PhD student at the University of Zagreb, Faculty of Mechanical Engineering and Naval Architecture. My PhD is related to flexibility requirements in modern electricity systems which is the main reason why I’m dealing with the optimization problems on a daily basis. I’m also one of the organizers of the SDEWES conferences which is the reason why i wanted to invite you all as a community to maybe organize one or more special sessions under the name openmod (or energy planning if you do not want to get directly involved) where we could present our work. Some of you may already know that this conference is great opportunity to get invited into high profile journals from around the world such as Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews, Applied Energy, Energy etc. which have special issues dedicated to the SDEWES conferences. Even though i know that most of you do not support Elsevier as publishing platform there are still some requirements from our research institutes or universities to do some publishing in order to achieve some kind of career advancement.

SDEWES Center is also established under the idea of open data and also supports open access through its journal JSDEWES. I personally think that you might be interested in JSDEWES since it finally got into the scopus and is expected to get an impact factor somewhere during the late 2018/beginning of 2019. The fee is 250 € and there is also a possibility to get a discount of 150 € if you are a PhD student. Here is the link to the journal so feel free to check:

http://www.sdewes.org/jsdewes/fee.php