Looking for advice on heating system simulation with oemof-solph/tespy

Hello, I am new to working with oemof and tespy and thus I am not sure how well the following use case can be investigated in oemof-solph and/or tespy.

The energy system under observation consists of several heat pumps, an anergy network (LowEx) and a heat exchanger. The heat exchanger transfers heat from a sewer to the anergy network, which in turn serves as a heat source for the heat pumps that provide heating or cooling to large buildings.

I would like to analyze how the temperatures in the anergy network respond to fluctuating tempera-tures in the sewer on the one hand and to varying heat consumptions of the heat pumps on the other. Ultimately COP and annual COP of the heat pumps should be calculated, based on these informations.

Thank you for any advice.

To note that anergy is an energy flow lacking available work or exergy. Therefore at the dead‑state, including without kinetic or potential energy. It is a reasonable term to use in this context, but others might not be familiar with the construct. HTH, R

Not suggesting you use this long abandoned deeco framework but it dealt with the same question using “thermal sub‑networks” or TSN. As described here in §8.6 (p146–150) (starting 161 on the PDF):

If you look at this in steady state conditions, that could be a very good example use for TESPy. You model heat pumps and heat exchanger and can then calculate missing quantities. Note that this will not be an optimisation (you mentioned solph) but a simulation where you have to give enough parameters to fully determine the problem.

Hi @yann,

Hi @yann,