Invitation/save the date: first-ever GenX virtual workshop - Dec 1, 2022

Dear Colleague,

We are delighted to invite you to our first virtual workshop centered around the open-source electricity system capacity expansion planning model, GenX, on December 1st, 2022 (11am-1pm Eastern / 8am-10am Pacific).

Since its open source release in August 2021, the GenX user base has expanded significantly and a growing network of open source contributors, anchored by the MIT Energy Initiative and Princeton ZERO Lab, have steadily improved and expanded the models features and capabilities.

This virtual workshop will bring together users of GenX, contributors to the open source software, champions of open source energy modeling, and other interested parties from academia, industry, non-profits, and government. We plan for this to be the first of a regular series of workshops bringing together the GenX community.

Participants will learn about the latest GenX features, plans, and priorities for future development, and participate in open discussion on development priorities, improvements, and practical use cases for the modeling tool. A draft agenda is included below.

Given the fact that you have been either making use of GenX in your work, contributing to the code base, or are an expert in a closely related field, we think that participating in this workshop will be of benefit to you and help us learn from your critical perspective.

Please use the following link for RSVP: https://forms.gle/cF7VAULPUQgPvqC38

We will send out a final agenda, reminder, and link to join the workshop via Zoom closer to the date of the event. Feel free to also forward this invitation to colleagues who you think would get value out of this workshop

Thank you, and we hope you’ll join us on December 1st!

On the behalf of the GenX core development team,

Jesse Jenkins and Dharik Mallapragada

Draft Agenda

11:00-11:15 EST: Why are we here? - Vision, journey so far, philosophy for GenX, motivations from core team 11:15-12:00 EST: What are we doing? - GenX core team on key features added and under development

12:00-01:00 EST: What should we do? - ‘Lightning talks’ from GenX users and ‘consumers’ of GenX results on use cases/experiences/challenges/features requests; followed by open discussion with all attendees on developments needs/priorities/uses

1 Like

The start time in some other locations.

Day Date Time Offset Timezone  
Friday 02 December 2022 05:00 +1300 NZDT
Friday 02 December 2022 03:00 +1100 AEDT
Friday 02 December 2022 01:00 +0900 JST
Friday 02 December 2022 00:00 +0800 CST
Thursday 01 December 2022 23:00 +0700 WIB
Thursday 01 December 2022 21:30 +0530 IST (India)
Thursday 01 December 2022 20:00 +0400 +04 (UAE)
Thursday 01 December 2022 19:00 +0300 MSK
Thursday 01 December 2022 19:00 +0300 EAT
Thursday 01 December 2022 18:00 +0200 CAT
Thursday 01 December 2022 18:00 +0200 SAST
Thursday 01 December 2022 18:00 +0200 EET
Thursday 01 December 2022 17:00 +0100 WAT
Thursday 01 December 2022 17:00 +0100 CET
Thursday 01 December 2022 16:00 +0000 GMT
Thursday 01 December 2022 16:00 +0000 UTC
Thursday 01 December 2022 11:00 -0500 EST
Thursday 01 December 2022 09:00 -0700 MST
Thursday 01 December 2022 08:00 -0800 PST
Thursday 01 December 2022 06:00 -1000 HST

Some background on GenX can be found on Wikipedia, together with key publications:

And here is a graphic from Lau et al (2022) which examines options for Europe following the Russian invasion of Ukraine on 24 February 2022:

Source: Lau, Michael, Wilson Ricks, Neha Patankar, and Jesse Jenkins (8 July 2022). Pathways to European independence from Russian natural gas — Policy memo. Princeton, New Jersey, USA: Zero Lab, Princeton University. doi:10.5281/zenodo.6811675. DOI resolves to latest version. Creative Commons CC‑BY‑4.0 license. License information from Zenodo landing page. You may need to sort through the file listings to locate the appropriate PDF.

1 Like
Text and images licensed under CC BY 4.0Data licensed under CC0 1.0Code licensed under MITSite terms of serviceOpenmod mailing listOpenmod wiki. Openmod YouTube.