Event: "How open energy modelling can save the planet - Unlocking potentials in Research and Industry"

How open energy modelling can save the planet – Unlocking potentials in research and industry

PyPSA meets Edinburgh - Hybrid Seminar

Download calendar.ics
2022-11-25T12:00:00Z2022-11-25T13:00:00Z (will show the event in your time zone)
Join Zoom Meeting https://ed-ac-uk.zoom.us/j/81914458574
Meeting ID: 819 1445 8574
Passcode: BvZxY4Y6
Join by Skype for Business https://ed-ac-uk.zoom.us/skype/81914458574
Dial in. Find your local number: https://ed-ac-uk.zoom.us/u/keheSKBiFW
Live: James Clerk Maxwell Building Lecture Theatre C

banner

Abstract:

Impactful energy policy decisions affecting our planet, our economy and you are nowadays still based on closed-source software and closed-data, lacking transparency, participation and reproducibility. This is also true for the „Fit for 55“ green deal package impacting the future of Europe. Shouldn’t these decisions of utmost importance be based on a transparent and open procedure? We certainly think so! This talk provides an introduction to Open Energy System Modelling and selected tools, visualised by examples from research and industry. Furthermore, the founders of the global “PyPSA meets Earth” initiative present their vision, open software ecosystem and reveal how you can get involved in their journey towards better decision-making for a sustainable (energy) future.

Speakers:

Max Parzen is PhD student at the University of Edinburgh, founder and co-director of the PyPSA meets Earth initiative as well as core team member and developer in the PyPSA ecosystem. His research focuses on energy storage evaluations and macro-energy system optimization. Prof. Davide Fioriti is an Associate Professor at the University of Pisa and co-director of the PyPSA meets Earth initiative. He leads many of the software activities in the initiative and has a research interest in macro and micro-energy system optimization, economics and computer science. Leon Schumm is PhD student at the Technical University of Berlin & Regensburg. He is currently co-leading sector-coupling activities, and his research focuses on decarbonizing the European energy system in an integrated analysis of Morocco’s hydrogen exports. Denise Giubilato is a talented master student at the University of Pisa currently developing her thesis on mini-grids with the support of open energy system tools. All speakers are engaged in the open energy modelling community & love what they do. Prof. Aristides Kiprakis, leader of the Agile Energy System Group at the University of Edinburgh, will moderate the session.

Program

All timestamps are London time/ GMT / UTC+0.

Time Presenter Topic
12:00–12:05 Prof. Aristides Kiprakis
University of Edinburgh
Event introduction
12:05–12:20 Maximilian Parzen
University of Edinburgh
Why do people care about open energy modelling? Providing insights from research and industry experience.
12:20–12:35 Leon Schumm
OTH Regensburg
The PyPSA meets Earth initiative and global energy planning solutions focusing on power and sector-coupled systems.
12:35–12:45 Davide Fioriti
University of Pisa
Think not only big but also small. The vision of a scalable mini-grid planning software solution.
12:45–12:50 Denise Giubilato
University of Pisa
Does open-source helps skill building? Experience from doing a master thesis on the mini-grid package.
12:50–13:00 Open ended Q&A

Start time in other timezones (now correct):

Day Date Time Offset Timezone  
Saturday 26 November 2022 01:00 +1300 NZDT
Friday 25 November 2022 23:00 +1100 AEDT
Friday 25 November 2022 21:00 +0900 JST
Friday 25 November 2022 20:00 +0800 CST
Friday 25 November 2022 19:00 +0700 WIB
Friday 25 November 2022 17:30 +0530 IST (India)
Friday 25 November 2022 16:00 +0400 +04 (UAE)
Friday 25 November 2022 15:00 +0300 MSK
Friday 25 November 2022 15:00 +0300 EAT
Friday 25 November 2022 14:00 +0200 CAT
Friday 25 November 2022 14:00 +0200 SAST
Friday 25 November 2022 14:00 +0200 EET
Friday 25 November 2022 13:00 +0100 WAT
Friday 25 November 2022 13:00 +0100 CET
Friday 25 November 2022 12:00 +0000 GMT
Friday 25 November 2022 12:00 +0000 UTC
Friday 25 November 2022 07:00 -0500 EST
Friday 25 November 2022 05:00 -0700 MST
Friday 25 November 2022 04:00 -0800 PST
Friday 25 November 2022 02:00 -1000 HST

Note: I believe the start time given in the text at the top of the first posting is incorrect and am seeking clarification from the organizers. R / Now fixed!

One participant mentioned that an engineering consultancy had undertaken a study for the Dutch government examining future nuclear power prospects and had used PyPSA‑Eur for some of that analysis. Here is the summary report in english, with section 1.4.2 describing the component that relates to PyPSA:

The landing page for that summary and also the full report in Dutch are given here:

The use of open models by consultancies is quite new, although not unheard of — and this is certainly a very encouraging development.

Text and images licensed under CC BY 4.0Data licensed under CC0 1.0Code licensed under MITSite terms of serviceOpenmod mailing listOpenmod wiki. Openmod YouTube.