Convergence issues with GenericStorage (CHP/heatpump combination)

Hello everyone,
My name is Christian and I’m new to this forum (and as you will see when looking to my attached code, I’m also new in Python and energy modelling).

Since some time I’m trying to size an energy system for our multi-family house.
This energy system is planned to consist of a CHP and a heatpump.

As the heatpump and the CHP are not really modulating that well in real life, I’d need to to add a Thermal Storage and probably as well an electrical storage to make it efficient.

I’ve modeled a very basic Thermal storage and eliminated all losses to make it “attractive” (lines 255 to 275), but whenever I activate this part of the code, the model is not converging anymore.
Without storage, the model with 8760 time-steps is converging within 66 seconds running on my elderly laptop.

Does anyone have similar experience or even an idea how to solve that ?
Any advice is highly appreciated.

I’ve attached the yearly demand of the house (“test.csv”) and the python code I’ve been using.

Kind Regards,
Christian

BB2_BHKW_WP_v7.zip (186.6 KB)

1 Like

He @shaundasschaf, please note that adding a storage will couple different time steps. Without, each of the n time steps can be solved independently. Thus adding one increase the complexity from O(n) to O(n²) in the worst case.

Looking at your code, you are using rather complex models (i.e. GenericCHP). Often, a Transformer (with constant efficiencies) is good enough. That should save you a lot of time. If you really need the complex model, note that implementing a loss rate will also help with the convergence issue. Losses will limit the usage of a storage so that it’s no longer meaningful to store something in January to use it in December. Thus, the complexity will de-facto be decreased. To make long-term coupling disappear by force, you can time-slice your problem, e.g. solving it week by week.