Challenges for development of configurator based on integrated water, energy, food, and environment systems based on oemof

Dear openmod community,

Thank you very much for your everlasting work developing and updating open energy modeling frameworks. I am a PhD student at RLI Berlin, with the main objective to provide planning support for integrated water, energy, food, and environment systems with open software. Thereby, I currently face challenges for implementing the final part of the project, a configurator for integrated water, energy, food, and environment systems (iWEFEs). In the following, I will shortly describe the background and use case of the tool and then state the challenges I currently face. It would be great to discuss these with you!

Background

The integration of water, energy, food, and environment systems allows the tapping of cross-sectoral synergies and minimization of trade-offs. The development of iWEFEs can be more resource efficient than single sector systems. Examples for iWEFEs include agrivoltaics, renewable-energy-powered water pumps and water treatment systems, biogas production from residues and wastewater, saline water greenhouses, constructed wetland, green roofs, and hydroponics. Despite their benefits, iWEFEs are rarely put into practice because of, among others, a lack of site-specific data and open tools to describe, model, and configure them.

Use Case